The American Society of Pediatric Neurosurgeons was founded in January 1978 by eighteen North American neurosurgeons and is dedicated to the advancement of all aspects of the subspecialty of pediatric neurological surgery. The Society's membership has grown to include virtually all North American neurosurgeons who devote a substantial majority of their practice to the care of pediatric patients, and now has well over 200 neurosurgeon members.